SF 49ers Aldon Smith to Enter Rehab

San Francisco linebacker Aldon Smith is arrested Friday morning following a single-car accident.

Two days after his arrest for suspicion of DUI, 49ers linebacker Aldon Smith was on the field at Candlestick Park Sunday, but when he’ll play next is uncertain.

49ers CEO Jed York said Smith won’t play Thursday and Smith will take an indefinite leave of absence. SI’s Peter King reported on NBC Sunday night that Smith will enter an in-patient facility early this week to treat his substance-abuse issues.

“First off, I wanted to apologize to the team, to the organization, my family everybody I let down,” Smith told reporters after the 49ers’ loss to the Colts. “I also wanted to let it to be known that this is a problem, and this is something I will get fixed and do everything in my power to make sure this happen again. I also wanted to let everybody know once again that I am sorry, and like I said, this won’t happen again.”

Friday morning, Smith was involved in a single-car accident around 7 a.m. in San Jose, which led to his arrest. He was released on bail. Smith was previously busted for a DUI in Miami Beach in January 2012, though charges were reduced to reckless driving after completing a program for first-time offenders.

Because Smith now has two arrests, he is subject to a suspension under the NFL’s personal conduct policy. He couldn’t be suspended by the 49ers under the collective bargaining agreement.

“I will support Aldon as long as he’s willing to work at this and fight to get better,” York said. “I believe Aldon wants to tackle this problem, and we’re going to do everything we can do to help him with this.”

Leave a Reply

